Assault and aggravated assault are amongst the most common criminal offenses in Florida. According to the Florida Department of Public Safety, during the very first six months of 2013, there were over 1,600 occurrences of aggravated assault alone. Compare that with the numbers for other violent crimes it’s more than robbery, or rape, and homicide.
Just due to the fact that assault is typical, doesn’t mean it’s a minor crime. Attack convictions in the state of Florida can result in months of imprisonment, and thousands of dollars owed in fines. In the long-lasting, having an attack conviction on your record has the ability to interfere with effectively acquiring employment, or even particular housing.
If you have been accused of the crime of assault or exacerbated attack in Florida, it is vital that you immediately find a skilled, knowledgeable lawyer to defend your credibility and your rights. Our attorneys have defended countless clients across the state of Florida, and now we can help you. Don’t wait till it’s far too late and you’re dealing with an aggressive prosecuting attorney, plan for your complimentary and personal legal examination today.
Assault in Florida
In the state of Florida, the crime of assault is covered in the code and there are three situations which are grounds for an attack charge:
- a deliberate attempt to trigger physical injury to another individual, through either physical violence or unlawful force
- a threat to cause physical injury to another person, when accompanied by a display screen of violence or force
- causing physical injury to another person, or triggering a big risk of physical injury to another individual, through use of violence or illegal force
- As law makes clear, an individual does not need to in fact attack someone else for their crime to be thought as an attack. A risk or effort can be enough.
Generally, the criminal offense of attack is considered to be a Class B Misdemeanor in the state of Florida, punishable by:
- approximately 6 months in prison
- as much as $1,000 in fines
There are likewise two scenarios in which the crime of assault ends up being a Class A Misdemeanor, which incurs harsher fines. Assault becomes a Course A Misdemeanor when either:
- an individual causes substantial physical injury to another individual
- an individual knowingly and intentionally assaults a pregnant female
In Florida, a Class A Misdemeanor is punishable by:
- as much as one year in prison
- approximately $2,500 in fines funded by a Florida reverse Mortgage
Compared to a Class B Misdemeanor, the optimum prison sentence doubles, and the optimum fine is nearly 3 times greater.
Worsened Assault in Utah
Assault and aggravated assault are not the same criminal activity and in the eyes of the law, aggravated assault is far more severe.
The seriousness of the charge and its associated penalty is identified by the level of injury sustained by the victim. Even if, in the best case circumstance, the victim is not seriously injured, intensified attack is still an extremely significant crime to be pronounced guilty of.
Domestic Violence and Weapon Ownership.
One broad sub-type of criminal activity which falls under the umbrella of assault is domestic violence (i.e. violence versus a spouse, sweetheart, partner, member of the family, or other cohabitant). Under federal law, any resident of Florida who is accused of dedicating a crime of domestic violence loses their weapon advantages for life. This includes using a weapon related to:.
They will be released from serving if a member of law enforcement or the armed forces if one is charged with domestic physical violence.
If a person who has lost their weapon advantages as a charge for committing domestic physical violence is found to be in possession of a gun, or even ammunition, it is a federal felony offense.
Misdemeanor convictions are severe and felony convictions are worse. If you are dealing with allegations of assault, intensified assault, or domestic violence in Florida, don’t wait until it’s far too late. Contact our law offices online, or by phone. Our lawyers are able to make emergency visits to holding prisons and centers. Your preliminary examination is totally free, and assessments are always confidential.